Switch to a Different User

The Switch User built-in script allows administrator users to temporarily assume the identity of another user. Switch User has a variety of uses, such as:

  • Reproducing and troubleshooting problems specific to a user to diagnose permissions issues.

  • Updating content on behalf of another user if they are unavailable.

To switch back to your original user, click the Return to session as [your name] link in the Switch User banner, or log out and in again.

An example Switch User banner, with linked text.
  1. To switch users, navigate to Built-in Scripts>Switch to a Different User.

  2. Under User, type the name of the target user.

  3. Click Preview to see if the user switch is valid.

    You cannot switch to a user with a higher permission level than your own.

  4. If valid, click Run. Then click here under Result to continue on as that user.

    The Switch to a Different User section of a Built-in Scripts screen. The text to indicate the current user is highlighted.

When a user assumes the identity of another user, it is recorded in the audit log.

You can disable/enable this feature in ScriptRunner Settings. See our settings documentation for more information. 

Use case: check permissions

If a user is unable to view content (for example: a space, page, or content on a page like linked Jira issues) an administrator can use this script to switch to the user that is having problems to investigate. Once the admin switches to the user, they can check what they're seeing, make adjustments, then check back to ensure the problem is solved. This way, the admin doesn't need to go through the user each time they've made a potential fix.