Use the Change Dashboard or Filter Ownership built-in script to change the owner for one or more dashboards or filters from one user to another.

If, for example, an employee has left your company, an administrator could use this script to transfer all dashboard and filter ownership at once before deactivating the user.

Dashboards comprise gadgets or portlets which use filters. When dashboard ownership changes, any filters within the dashboard will error; therefore the filter ownership needs to be changed as well. The Change Dashboard or Filter Ownership built-in script changes ownership of any filters contained within the effected dashboard using the following rules:

  • If the dashboard being modified includes filters with the same owner, the filter owner is also modified.

  • If a different user owns the filter and the target user has permission to view the filter, no change is made.

  • If a different user owns the filter and the target user does not have permission to view the filter, the filter is shared globally.

    1. From ScriptRunner, navigate to Built-in Scripts→Change Dashboard or Filter Ownership.

    2. In From User, select the original owner of the dashboard or filter.

    3. In To User, select the username of the new owner of the dashboard or filter.

    4. In the Dashboards field, all dashboards owned by the user specified in From User are listed. Select the name of the dashboards for which ownership will change to the user specified in To User.

      To select multiple dashboards and filters hold Ctrl (Command on macOS).

    5. The Filter field contains a list of all filters owned by the user specified in From User. Select the name of the filters for which ownership will change to the user defined in To User.

      Change Dashboard or Filter Ownership can be used to change the ownership of the selected dashboards (including filters within the dashboard with the same owner), selected filters, or selected dashboards and filters.

    6. Click Preview to see an overview before committing changes. Click Run to change ownership.