Change Dashboard, Filter, or Board Ownership
Use the Change Dashboard, Filter, or Board Ownership built-in script to change the owner of the selected dashboards, filters, and board s from one user to another.
For example, if a team member has left your company, you could use this built-in script to transfer all dashboard and filter ownerships at once before deactivating the user.
Note: Depending on the configuration and share settings, a user might still have access to a dashboard, filter, or board after ownership has changed.
Dashboard ownership transfer rules
Dashboards comprise gadgets or portlets that use filters. When dashboard ownership changes, any filters within the dashboard will error; therefore the filter ownership needs to be changed as well. This built-in script changes ownership of any filters contained within the affected dashboard using the following rules:
- If the dashboard being modified includes filters with the same owner, the filter owner is also modified.
- If a different user owns the filter and the target user has permission to view the filter, no change is made.
- If a different user owns the filter and the target user does not have permission to view the filter, the filter is shared globally.