ScriptRunner Enhanced Search JQL Queries
Run a search
You can perform searches based on applied filters to view JQL queries which can be run as one-off searches or saved and shared. After installation and syncing:
Customize search results
After running your enhanced JQL query, a table of results is displayed, showing customisable information about the issues returned. ScriptRunner Enhanced Search allows you to choose what information is displayed in the Results table, helping you to find what you need efficiently.
The number of columns is not capped, but depending on your screen resolution, we recommend selecting no more than 10 columns.
Save a search filter
As well as running one-off searches, you can save your ScriptRunner Enhanced Search JQL queries as filters. Saving your query searches as filters allows you to use ScriptRunner Enhanced Search JQL functions in other JQL fields.
Follow the steps below to save your filter, and refer to Saved Filters to understand how these can be used.
To see all saved filters, click Jira Software and navigate to Issues and Filters > View All Filters.
Export a saved filter to a CSV file
Once you have performed a search and saved that search as a filter, you can export that saved filter as a .csv file. To do so, follow these steps:
- Navigate to Filters > View all filters.
- Choose the filter you want to export and select Export.
- Select the export type.
Use search results in a Jira filter
Saved Filters
You can access your ScriptRunner Enhanced Search JQL queries that have been saved as filters from the top left tab section of the Enhanced Search page, namely Created By You and Shared With You. Any of your saved filters can be shared with other users. However, only the owner of a filter can make edits to it.
Recently, we've made some performance and reliability improvements, which means we do not update the search results for Enhanced Search saved filters that have not been used in Jira for 2 months or more. Specifically, the term ' using' the saved filter refers to viewing it in a Jira search, a dashboard or an agile board powered by the filter, or other such instances, such as being part of a Confluence macro that uses the filter. Note that viewing the search results for those saved filters within the Enhanced Search app does not count as actually using them.
Modify shared filters
If you share a filter with another user, they can only view the JQL. In order to modify the filter, they will need to contact the owner of that filter or create a new filter using the JQL.
Transfer ownership of a filterWhen transferring ownership of an Enhanced Search filter, ensure the original owner continues to have view permission for the filter before completing the transfer. If the original owner loses access after ownership is changed, the filter may be deleted. This is because the system cannot verify the new owner's Atlassian account ID during the transfer unless the previous owner still has permission to view the filter.
From here, you can understand and work with saved filters in several ways:
| Function | Description | |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Created By You/Shared With You | Indicates filters that are private or shared with you. Any of your saved filters can be shared with other users, however, only the owner of a filter can make edits to it. |
| 2 | Sort By | Use the drop down list to sort filters alphabetically, by filters that are not synced automatically, or by the most recently created filters. |
| 3 | Show details/Hide details | View or hide the owner of a shared filter and other basic information. |
| 4 | Refresh Filter | Note:Sync interval refresh Click the refresh button to manually update a filter that you own. Your search results update automatically. However, if a filter search exceeds the sync interval period of five minutes, then a manual refresh will provide the most up-to-date results. You can easily find filters that are not automatically update by selecting Not automatically synced from the Sort by drop down list. |
| 5 | Shared/Private | Indicates that this is, or is not, a shared filter. You can edit either of these types of filter. |
| 6 | Delete Filter | Click Show details to delete a saved filter. You can only delete a filter that you own. |
| 7 | New Filter | Create a new filter search. |
| 8 | Edit Filter | Modify an existing saved filter's details, including how it is shared. |
Edit a Search
You can edit any previously saved searches as follows:
Modify shared filters If you share a filter with another user, they can only view the JQL. In order to modify the filter, they will need to contact the owner of that filter or create a new filter using the JQL.
Transfer ownership of a filter When transferring ownership of an Enhanced Search filter, ensure the original owner continues to have view permission for the filter before completing the transfer. If the original owner loses access after ownership is changed, the filter may be deleted. This is because the system cannot verify the new owner's Atlassian account ID during the transfer unless the previous owner still has permission to view the filter.