Advanced Logging

What is the variable 'log'?

The log variable is injected into every ScriptRunner inline script, and its value is equivalent to:

def log = Logger.getLogger("com.onresolve.scriptrunner.runner.ScriptRunnerImpl")

log is an instance of a Logger.

Using your own logger

It might be preferable to use your own logger so that you can adjust logging levels separately from ScriptRunner as a whole.

In an inline script, or file, you can do this using the following code:

import org.apache.log4j.Logger def log = Logger.getLogger("com.acme.workflows") log.warn("Workflow function running...")

If you use classes the simplest way to get a logger is to use the @Log4j annotation:

package com.acme.workflows import groovy.util.logging.Log4j @Log4j class Foo { void utilityMethod() { log.warn "Foo.utilityMethod" } }

In the above example, the log instance is automatically created and will have the category com.acme.workflows.Foo, that is, the fully qualified class name.

This is the best way of logging, as it will automatically wrap calls to the logger in the relevant guarding function, e.g. if (log.isDebugEnabled()) {log.debug(…​)}

Confluence uses log4j 1x, if browsing the documentation be sure you are not looking at the documentation for log4j 2x.

Log Levels

A log message is printed if the logging level is the same or higher than the configured level for that category.

For detailed information on logging levels, see log4j Logging Levels.

The default log level for most categories is WARN. Take a note of the default log level before making any changes. Therefore, if you want to use log.debug, the category level must be set to DEBUG or TRACE.

Take a note of the default log level before making any changes.

Temporarily enable ScriptRunner logging under System>Logging and Profiling in the Administration menu. Set the com.onresolve package to DEBUG under Default Loggers.

This sets the logging level until the instance is restarted or the logging level is changed manually (to the default WARN for example).

You can change the logging level permanently by adjusting the files - see the Atlassian Confluence Logging Levels documentation.

On this page