Project Configurator must connect to your Jira Cloud instances in order to promote configurations between each other. The Connection screen lists the Jira Cloud instances for which you’ve already established a connection and allows you to add more.

What is a connection?

A connection refers to the successful pairing between Project Configurator for Jira Cloud and a Jira Cloud instance. Connections can be created, authorized, and managed in the Connections screen.

The Migration function can be used to establish connections as well.

Create new connections

  1. From the Connections screen, click New Connection.

  2. The Manage Connection window appears. Label your connection, in the Connection Name field. 

    We recommend giving your connection the same name as the Jira instance you wish to connect. For example: Staging, Production, My Test Instance are all names that can help to identify specific connections when you use them later.

  3. Click Authorize to establish a connection and authorise with your instance. The Atlassian Authorization window appears.

    This is a pop-up window, so ensure you allow pop-ups for this case.

  4. In the Atlassian Authorization window, select your desired Jira Cloud instance from the Authorize for options.

    Click the Carrot to see more information about the Jira API scopes used by the app.

    We've also provided this in our FAQ page. 

  5. Click Accept. The Atlassian Authorization window is closed and you're returned to the Connections screen.

    If there's a problem in the authorization process, the window will not close and instead read Unauthorized. If you need help with this step, check out our support resources or contact us directly.

  6. Click Save, to save your authorized connection.

    You can save as many connections as needed. You can add and remove connections at any time.

Here's a short video of the process:

Manage established connections

Reauthorize

Connections are managed and renewed for you automatically, but you can reauthorize an existing connection at any time. You may wish to do this if your credentials have changed or you wish to connect as a different user.

  1. From the Connections screen, click the connection in the grid that you wish to reauthorize.
  2. Click the Setup tab.
  3. Click Authorize.
  4. The steps that follow match the process to setup a new connection.

    This will overwrite any connection setup you have previously configured.

Delete

It is possible to delete an unwanted connection at any time.

  1. From the Connections screen, click the connection in the grid that you wish to delete.
  2. Click the Delete this connection button.
  3. You will be asked to confirm the deletion.