Learn for Jira Server and DC

Global Configuration

Analytics

Anonymous analytics collects Learn for Jira usage data, together with platform version, plugin version, and SEN, allowing Adaptavist to gain insight into Learn for Jira usage. All data collected is for internal use only. See our EULA for more information.

Anonymous analytics is enabled by default (if Atlassian analytics is enabled).

To enable or disable anonymous analytics follow these steps (for users with Jira administrator/ system administrator permissions only) :

  1. Click on the Lighthouse icon at the top-right of Jira.

  2. Select Global Config in the Learn for Jira drop-down menu.

  3. Toggle the Enable Anonymous Analytics Capture switch.

If the analytics for Atlassian are disabled, the toggle is grayed out. To check the Atlassian-level analytics, select Analytics in the Settings section of the sidebar.

Permissions

If users aren’t given access to Learn, they won’t be able to view the content. Permissions are found on the Configuration screen and granted via groups. The different types of permissions are as follows:

  • Learn - The ability to use or have administrative power over all of Learn for Jira.

  • Paths - The ability to create, share and administer learning paths. (Paths are coming soon!)

  • Courses - The ability to create and administer courses (collections of chapters and modules.)

  • Modules - The ability to create and administer modules (individual components of a course, like a video + download.)

  • Teams - The ability to administer or remove teams or users from teams.

To add permissions for a group,

  1. Click on the Lighthouse icon at the top-right of Jira.

  2. Select Global Config in the Learn for Jira drop-down menu.

  3. Under Permissions click on the Search and add groups box.

  4. Begin typing the group you want to add and select it when the option appears. For example, a commmon group is jira-software-users.

  5. Select the permissions you want that group to have. For instance, you might want them to be able to use Learn and to create and share learning paths when those are an option, but not to create or edit courses, modules, or teams.

  6. Your progress is saved as you go, so when you are done, you can continue with your work straight away.

You can add as many groups as you need to refine permissions and there is a quick Remove option at the far right if a group no longer needs access to anything.

The global permissions granted on this page are not the same thing as the permissions for individual courses. Information about course permissions can be found in the Course Editor documentation.