Content Creation and Management

Learn for Jira allows you to easily manage and customize your content.

The Content Management page, displays all of the courses, paths, and modules currently in Learn for Jira. Use the respective editor to customize any of these content types. The upload process for courses is also managed form this page.

Navigate to the Content Management page to access these settings by clicking on the Learn Lighthouse icon at the top-right of Jira and then selecting Course Editor.
You are only able to reach this page if you have a full license for Learn for Jira and you are logged in with an account that has Jira administration permissions.

Modules

Modules are the building blocks of Learn content. A module is a single content item, like a video or slide deck. Learn has default modules, which may be edited if desired, and added to a Course or Learning Path. Custom modules may also be added on the Content Management page.

New feature

Modules, created using media stored on a local web server, can display content regardless of an Internet connection.

Read more about this feature on the Create Module page.

Courses

A course is a series of modules, organized into chapters, guiding Learn users through specific information on a topic, like a Jira application.

There are default courses in Learn, already available. Learn and Course Administrators may also create and edit courses. By default, courses are visible to all Learn users. However, viewing and edit permissions can be enabled by editing the course.

Admins may perform the following actions in a course’s Edit screen:

  • Add, edit, and delete modules

  • Reorder modules

  • Add, edit, and order chapters

Additional functions are available by clicking the course’s Edit button:

  • Edit course details

    • Name

    • Description

    • Version

    • Duration

    • Visibility

    • Edit Permissions

  • Download

  • Delete

When you update Learn for Jira, any native Courses that you have made changes to will be overwritten with the original Course. We will soon be making these Courses read-only. When we do this we will also provide an easier way for you to clone a Course and hide visibility on the original Course.

Learning Paths

A learning path, like a course, consists of modules and chapters. Paths facilitate the creation of role specific training.
A learning path may be created by any user and is, by default, only visible to the author. The visibility and editing permissions may be changed in a path’s Edit screen.

The following options are available to Admins on a path’s Edit screen:

  • Add, edit, and delete modules

  • Reorder modules

  • Add, edit, and reorder chapters

Additional editing may be done by clicking the path’s Edit button:

  • Edit path details

    • Name

    • Description

    • Version

    • Duration

    • Visibility

    • Edit Permission

  • Download

  • Delete

Reporting

Learn makes it easy to keep track of how team members are progressing through their assigned content. To learn more, check out the Team Reports page.