Save as a Filter

As well as running one off searches, you can save your Enhanced Search JQL queries as filters. Saving your queries as filters allows you to use Enhanced Search JQL functions in other JQL fields.

  1. Run a search and customize the results.
  2. Click the Save as filter button to save this filter and reuse at a later stage. This opens the Save Filter window.
  3. Name the filter and enable the Sync Filter toggle so you can use it in dashboards and Jira Software Boards.
    Navigate to the Settings page, via Apps→ScriptRunner for Jira→Settings, where you can specify how often ScriptRunner synchronizes your filters. The default interval is five minutes. The maximum allowed interval is an hour. We recommend you to use the default value, unless you notice that filter synchronizing makes too many requests to your Jira instance and causes a performance problem.

    Once created, new filters are not synchronized by default. All new filters are synchronized after the default interval of 5 minutes when the Sync Filter option is selected in the Filter Creation Screen. If the Sync Filter option is disabled, the filter does not automatically sync and must be manually synced from the Search screen using the Sync Filter button.

    Every X minute, ScriptRunner will check if something has changed in your Jira issues or someone has changed the ScriptRunner add-on settings recently. If that check is positive, then filters are synced with the changes made to the issues in your Jira instance.

    Filters are always run with the same set of permissions as the user who created the filter.

    You must make sure that the ScriptRunner Add-On User has the Global Permission to Browse Users in order for this feature to work.

    If you want to update or delete these Enhanced Search filters, use the ScriptRunner Enhanced Search page instead of the Jira filters user interface.

  4. Chose who to share the filter with, there are three options: share with all, share with a select user group, or share with a project:

    • Checking Share With All shares the filter with all users logged into the Jira Cloud instance.

    • Entering one or more groups under Choose Groups, shares the filter with all members of the selected group(s).

    • Selecting one or more projects under Choose Project, makes the saved filter available within the selected project(s).

  5. Click Save.

    To see all saved filters, click Jira Software and navigate to Issues and Filters→View All Filters

Saved Filters

Access your saved filters from the top left section of the Enhanced Search page.

Any of your saved filters can be shared with other users, however, only the owner of a filter can make edits to it. So if you share a filter with another user they can view the JQL, but in order to make edits they will need to contact the owner of that filter, or create a new filter using the JQL which they will then own.

From here, you can work with saved filters in several ways:

FilterDescription
New FilterCreate a new filter.
Edit FilterModify an existing saved filter's details, including how it is shared.
PrivateIndicates that this is not a shared filter, you can edit the filter if you want to share it.
SharedIndicates that this is a shared filter, you can edit the filter if you do not want to share it.
Delete FilterClick View More to delete a saved filter.
View MoreView the owner of a shared filter.