Synchronizing Keywords

When Enhanced Search for Jira Cloud is installed an initial synchronization must be performed by an administrator before the JQL keywords work in Jira's native JQL search. Although the administrator initiates the synchronization process, it is always the Jira user who accesses the issues in order to view them.

There are several ways to navigate to the Sync Keywords page:

  • Click Go to Sync Keywords on the Welcome to Enhanced Search for Jira Cloud post-install page.

  • Navigate to the Manage Apps screen. Find Enhanced Search and click Get Started to view the Welcome to Enhanced Search for Jira Cloud post-install page. From this page click Go to Sync Keywords.

  • If this is the first synchronization, a banner and link appear when opening Enhanced Search.

  • Navigate to the sync page with a direct URL.

Initial Synchronisation

  1. Navigate to the Sync Keywords page. A yellow notification shows if an initial sync is required.
  2. Click Sync All Issues. All issues in the projects listed under Synchronization are synchronized.

You can safely close the page or shut down your computer once the sync is in progress.

Currently, instances that contain a large number of issues (>1M) may take a significant amount of time to sync. An update to make issue syncing more efficient is coming soon.

A list displays containing metadata that is stored for each issue, including:

  • a list of the link types (e.g. Blocks) for linked issues

  • the number of issue links

  • a list of link names (e.g. "is cloned by") for linked issues

  • the number of attachments on the issue

  • a list of file extensions from attachments

  • the date on which the first attachment was added to the issue

  • the date on which the last (most recent) attachment was added to the issue

  • a list of usernames that added attachments to the issue

  • the number of subtasks of the issue

  • a list of project roles that worklogs were restricted to

  • a list of user groups that worklogs were restricted to

  • the number of comments on the issue

  • the date of the first comment on the issue

  • the date of the last (most recent) comment on the issue

  • a list of all dates on which comments were added to the issue

  • a list of usernames that have added comments to the issue

  • a list of project roles that comments have been restricted to

  • a list of user groups that comments have been restricted to

  • the username of the person who last (most recent) made a comment on the issue

  • the project role that the last (most recent) comment was restricted to

  • the user group that the last (most recent) comment was restricted to

You may encounter issues that do not sync for instances where you have a workflow property setup that does not allow an add-on user to edit an issue if it was in the Resolved status.

It is good practice to check that you do not have any workflow properties setup to adjust permissions on an issue (jira.permission property). You can refer here for more details.

JQL Keyword Sync for Enhanced Search Functions 

Although not all Enhanced Search functions require a JQL keyword sync, there are specific functions that do, including:

  • addedAfterSprintStart

  • linkedIssuesOf

You should also be aware that all JQL aliases also require a JQL keyword sync.

Permissions

Enhanced Search for Jira Cloud users can only see comments and worklogs from the following groups:

  • jira-core-users

  • jira-servicedesk-users

  • jira-software-users

Search results will be incorrect if permissions are not granted to view:

  • Edit all issues (edit permission is required to store the additional metadata).

  • All comments, including those restricted to a particular group/role.

  • All worklogs, including those restricted to a particular group/role.

If worklogs and comments are restricted to a role, ensure the role is assigned to the group the Enhanced Search for Jira Cloud user belongs to under Project Settings.

Issue synchronization failures are usually caused by permissions issues. Check the administrator user has permissions to the issues before synchronization.