latest

Review for Deployment

Before an AutoBlocks workspace can be deployed to Jira, it must be reviewed and approved by an AutoBlocks admin.

Here’s the basic workspace-review workflow:

  1. An editor creates a workspace.

  2. An editor proposes the workspace for admin review.

  3. An admin reviews the workspace.

    • If rejected, the admin sends notes for revision to the editor, who can then update and resubmit the workspace for another admin review. (If minimal changes are necessary, admins may opt to make changes themselves to save time.)

    • If approved, the admin deploys the workspace to Jira.

Take a moment to learn about the AutoBlocks permission options for editors and admins.

AutoBlocks Editor Abilities

Workspaces created by users with the AutoBlocks Editors permission must be proposed to and reviewed by an AutoBlocks admin. If the workspace is approved, it can be deployed by the admin at any time. If changes are made to an approved workspace, it must be proposed and reviewed again prior to deployment.

Cancel a Proposed Review

If an editor decides he or she wants to cancel the review for a proposed workspace, the editor can open the workspace and click Reject to stop the review process. Changes can then be made to the workspace by the editor, and it can be proposed for review once again.

Revise Rejected Workspaces

If a workspace is proposed for review and then rejected, the admin reviewer will communicate with the editor the reasons for the rejection. The editor can them make changes and resubmit a new version of the workspace for review.

Note: If minimal changes are necessary, admins may opt to make the changes themselves to save time.

Undeploy Owned Workspaces

If an editor suspects a workspace he or she owns should be undeployed, such as if an automation is potentially causing issues in Jira, the editor/owner has the ability to undeploy the workspace.

An editor does not have the authority to undeploy workspaces he or she does not own.

Delete Workspaces

An editor only has the ability to delete workspaces he or she created that have yet to be approved. Once a workspace has been approved, regardless of its status thereafter, only an admin can delete the workspace.

AutoBlocks Admin Abilities

Workspaces created by AutoBlocks editors must be proposed to and reviewed by a user with the AutoBlocks Admin permission. If the workspace is approved, it can be deployed by the admin at any time. If changes are made to an approved workspace, it must be resubmitted for review.

Note: Workspaces created by an AutoBlocks admin can be self-approved, though it is recommended to have another admin review the workspace to best avoid unforeseen issues.

Review and Approve/Deploy Workspaces

If an admin reviews an editor’s proposed workspace and finds that it meets the accuracy and quality guidelines of its intent, the admin may approve the workspace. An approved workspace may be deployed to Jira immediately or at a later time.

If changes are made to an approved workspace, it must be resubmitted for admin review.

Review and Reject Workspaces

If an admin reviews a workspace and finds fault in the automation’s logic or thinks there’s room for improvement, the admin may reject the workspace.

A workspace rejection should be accompanied by the admin’s reasons for the rejection and thoughts about how an editor can improve the workspace and achieve approval. Suggestions can be communicated in any way. A few simple notes may be communicated face to face or via AutoBlocks for Jira’s block-comment option.

Using Block Comments

  1. Right-click a block on which you want to leave a comment, then click Add Comment.

    add comment

    A blue comment icon appears on the block.

  2. Click the comment icon to open the text box.

    If necessary, both you and the editor can use the text box to dialogue with each other.

    review comment

    Note: There is no notification that a block comment has been updated.

  3. Type your message in the text box.

  4. Click the comment icon to close the text box.

To delete a block comment, right-click the comment icon, then click Remove Comment.

Multiple comments, especially for issues that may contain any level of complexity, should be communicated via a method that allows the editor can save and refer back to the comments at a later date, e.g., email, instant chat message, etc.

Undeploy Workspaces

Admins have the ability to undeploy from Jira any workspace at any time. For example, a workspace may need to be undeployed and investigated if it is suspected of causing issues in Jira.

Delete Workspaces

Admins have the ability to delete any workspace at any time, including workspaces with an approved status.