Use the Workspaces view to put blocks together and build automations.

Each workspace can be configured with one or more block libraries, which are service-specific containers of the blocks you need to build automations. You can link one or more Git repositories to a workspace to import and/or export your workspace data to share with others.

Parts of the Screen

Get to know the major parts of the Workspaces view:

Creating a New Workspace

  1. Click Workspaces to either create a new workspace or to view the existing workspaces you've already created.
  2. Click New Workspace.
  3. Give the workspace name.
  4. Optional: If you want to link the workspace to an existing Git repository, click Repositories.
    1. Select a connected Git repository from the dropdown list.
      If you haven't created a Git connection, click the dropdown, then click Select Repositories. The Connection wizard opens and walks you through the process of creating a Git connection.
  5. Click Save.

Adding Libraries

The blocks that you use to build automations are stored in separate compartments called libraries. A library is a collection of blocks and necessary services that work with a specific connection service, e.g., the Jira Cloud library contains blocks and services you'll need to build automations with Jira Cloud, while the Confluence Server/DC library contains blocks and services you'll need to use to build automations with Confluence Server/DC, etc. There's also a Basic library that contains generic blocks that you can use alongside blocks from any other service-specific library blocks in AutoBlocks.

Even if you rely most heavily on the code editor to build automations, you still must add the pertinent libraries to the workspace to work with connection services. 

Add multiple libraries to a single workspace to build automations between different services—that's the beauty of AutoBlocks!

Here's how to add libraries to your workspace.

  1. In an open workspace, click Add Libraries.
    The Libraries modal opens with a list of available libraries. Filters appear on the left.
  2. Click to select one or more libraries you want to add to the workspace.
  3. Click OK.
    The libraries appear in your workspace.
  4. To place a block on the workspace, click your desired library, then click and drag a block onto the workspace.

    Delete blocks by selecting the block and pressing Delete on your keyboard, by dragging the block to the trash, or by using the right-click menu. If you delete or trash a block, all attached blocks are also deleted/trashed.

    Deleted blocks can be retrieved later in the session, if desired, by clicking the trashcan and dragging blocks back onto the workspace.

    Use caution: Blocks are permanently emptied from the trash when you exit a workspace.

Building an Automation with Blocks

Once you've created a new workspace and added your desired libraries, you're ready to start building an automation.

  1. Click a library in the panel on the left side of the screen.
    The available blocks for that library appear.
  2. Click and drag a block onto the workspace. 

    Blocks on the workspace can be moved around by clicking and dragging. To get rid of a block, you can drag it to the trashcan, drag it back into the library panel, or select it and press Delete on your keyboard. 

    Some blocks have a Code block attached, which allows you to add your own personal code to the block. To view or write code, click the Code block's edit icon when it's on your workspace to access the scripting module.

    Code blocks have useful information in them that explains how to approach the scripting for that particular Code block.

  3. Configure and arrange blocks from the workspace libraries, including your Code blocks, until you've built your desired automation.
  4. Deploy the automation and monitor the activity and reporting feedback.

Continuing Work on Existing Workspaces

You can work with workspace drafts, or you can amend deployed workspaces.

  1. Click Workspaces to view the existing workspaces you've already created.
  2. Click on the tile for the draft workspace you want to continue building.
    The workspace opens.
  3. Continue building your workspace.

Deploying a Workspace

If you're ready to set your automation free to interact with a connected service—or connection—deploy the workspace. You can monitor its activity on the Reporting dashboard.

  1. On the Workspaces panel, click the workspace you want to deploy.
    The workspace opens, and the automation you've built with blocks is visible. 
  2. Click Deploy in the upper-right corner of the screen.

    The Activity Log opens and logs the deployment progress. Use it to troubleshoot issues with your workspace deployment.

Undeploying a Workspace

Undeploy a deployed workspace to suspend the automation.

  1. Click Workspaces to view your workspaces.
  2. Click on the tile of the deployed workspace you want to suspend and undeploy.
    The workspace opens.
  3. Click the More Actions dropdown in the upper-right corner of the screen to show the undeploy option, then click Undeploy.
    The Activity Log opens and logs the undeployment progress.

Delete a Workspace

Workspaces must be in the undeployed state to be deleted. Delete a workspace at any time, but be cautious as deletions are permanent and cannot be restored. 

  1. Ensure the workspace you want to delete is undeployed.
  2. Click the ellipses on the workspace tile you want to delete.

    The Manage Workspace modal appears.
  3. Click Delete this workspace.
    A warning prompt appears.
  4. When prompted with Permanently delete this workspace?, click Delete.